Tags

, , , , ,

Sydney has got to be one of the most beautiful places in the world to live – even when it is pouring with rain at the height of summer, like today!  It has great restaurants, great theatre, (usually) enviable weather, a gorgeous harbour with amazing beaches.  It’s cosmopolitan.  There is always something to see or do, BUT Sydney doesn’t have everything.

Sometimes I miss New Zealand stuff…

Vogels Bread

Vogels Bread

I miss Vogels bread (it never tastes as good outside NZ).

Sunrise over Rangitoto Island

Sunrise over Rangitoto (photo from Dailymail.co.uk)

I miss seeing Rangitoto Island in the harbour.  It looks the same from any angle.

Bethells Beach

Bethells Beach

I miss the black sand and surf beaches of the west coast.  In the summer, the sand gets too hot to walk on.

And, I miss Kiwi humour.  It’s quirky and kind of self-effacing.  We’re not as open as the Aussies.  We’re a bit more earnest, I think.

Did you know that Bret McKenzie, one half of the fabulous Flight of the Conchords team, has been nominated for Best Original Song, at the Oscars this year?  Bret’s song Man or Muppet, from the movie The Muppets is up for a gong.  Go Bret!!!

I miss Flight of the Conchords (although I would still miss them if I were in NZ, too).  

Come back Bret and Jermaine…

