Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

If the person you are talking to doesn’t appear to be listening, be patient. It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear.  (A. A. Milne)

My Ted

My Ted

One of my very favourite presents ever, and one that has given me much happiness is my ‘Ted’ sculpture (complete with his stuffing coming out), by Australian artist, Jonathan Leahey.  I was going to give you a wee exposé on Jonathan Leahey but I couldn’t readily find much information on him.  Bah humbug!  

No matter.  I have my Ted and I love him.

My Ted was acquired from the very fabulous Brenda May Gallery in Danks Street, Waterloo (that’s in Sydney, for all you out-of-towners).   There is often something quirky or fabulous at Brenda May’s, and always somebody willing to have a chat about the art on show.

Here are a couple more Ted’s from the Jonathan Leahey ‘Soft’ exhibition:

Ted 4

Jonathan Leahey's Ted 4

Ted 3

Jonathan Leahey's Ted 3

Danks Street is a fab’ wee spot for a bit of weekend wandering if you’re in town.  The gallery is right beside Kiwi Jared Ingersoll’s ‘Danks Street Depot’, one of my long-time favourite brunch spots (Try the slow-cooked broccoli and eggs.  Yum!).

