Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Diego – 1970 & 2011, Buenos Aires
(Image ©Irina Werning)

There are some seriously creative people in the world. Often, their ideas are so simple and yet, at the same time, so incredibly clever. Here’s an example of yet another clever creative…

Irina Werning loves old photos. She admits to being a nosey photographer. “As soon as I step into someone else’s house, I start sniffing for them. Most of us are fascinated by their retro look but to me, it’s imagining how people would feel and look like if they were to re-enact them today…” So, she decided to actually do this. She started to invite people back to their future…

I think the results are amazing:

Johanes – 1994 & 2011 Hamburg
(Image ©Irina Werning)

Carol – 1960 & 2011 New York
(Image ©Irina Werning)

Evan – 1957 & 2011 New York
(Image ©Irina Werning)

Negra – 1980 & 2010 Buenos Aires
(Image ©Irina Werning)

Fer F – 1981 & 2011 Buenos Aires
(Image ©Irina Werning)

Male Sil Flor – 1983 & 2010 Buenos Aires
(Image ©Irina Werning)

It made me start to think about what old image I would pick if Irina were to take me back to the future. I think it would have to be one with my little sister…

How do you feel about a trip to Sydney, Irina?

J & B – circa 1973 Auckland
(That’s me on the left!)

Irina has many more images in her ‘Back to the Future’ project on her website. She’s also done a great series with Chini, the Chinese Crested pooch which is hilarious! You can access it all here.
