Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Laughing Stones by Hirotoshi Ito

Three Laughing Stones by Hirotoshi Ito
(Image © Jiyuseki)

Some things I love – trompe l’oeil, clever art and design that makes me smile, a sense of fun, originality, optical illusions, wondering “How do they do that?”… So, when I find an artist who achieves all of this with his art, I am totally captivated.

Let me introduce you to the incredibly clever world of Japanese artist and stonemason, Hirotoshi Ito. He carves sculpture out of stone. But, not just any sculpture. His work utilises the natural shape of the river stones he works with, and he then imbues them with his unique kind of warmth and humour. The result is both clever and enchanting.

I love all his work. Perhaps I’m leaning towards the plush stone being my favourite… What do you think?

Laughing Stone by Hirotoshi Ito

Laughing Stone by Hirotoshi Ito
(Image © Jiyuseki)

Peel by Hirotoshi Ito

Peel by Hirotoshi Ito
(Image © Jiyuseki)

Metal Age by Hirotoshi Ito

Metal Age by Hirotoshi Ito
(Image © Jiyuseki)

Cooking Stone by Hirotoshi Ito

Cooking Stone by Hirotoshi Ito
(Image © Jiyuseki)

Stone Coin Purse by Hirotoshi Ito

Stone Coin Purse by Hirotoshi Ito
(Image © Jiyuseki)

Plush Stone by Hirotoshi Ito

Plush Stone by Hirotoshi Ito
(Image © Jiyuseki)

Shirt of Autumn by Hirotoshi Ito

Shirt of Autumn by Hirotoshi Ito
(Image © Jiyuseki)

While scratching my head and wondering, “How does he do that?”, I am seriously lusting after a piece of stone sculpture made Hirotoshi Ito. Sadly, I don’t think I will get to Gallery Jiyuseki in Nagano, Japan any time soon.

If you’d like to see some more examples of his work, check out his website here. Amazing.

