Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

'New Knee With Tulips' by Matthew Cox

‘New Knee With Tulips’ by Matthew Cox
(Image © Matthew Cox)

I was always shocked when I went to the doctor’s office and they did my X-ray and didn’t find that I had eight more ribs than I should have or that my blood was the color green.(Nicholas Cage)

Matthew Cox is motivated by redefinition. At least, that’s what he says got him started with this wacky idea to create embroidered x-rays. One material is tactile and labor intensive while the other technical, and quickly a finished product. He reckons that, “by simply placing one of these materials on top of the other the understood purpose of each is redefined.” Certainly, it makes the observer stop and look (more than once, in my case)

I like that for Matthew Cox, “stitching has a nurturing aspect and acts as care giving or healing to the injured, a socially feminine sort of action, while the x-ray itself can be considered masculine and unemotional.”

Snow White by Matthew Cox

Snow White by Matthew Cox
(Image © Matthew Cox)

Underwire Bra With Tulips

Underwire Bra With Tulips
(Image © Matthew Cox)

Pacemaker Barbie by Matthew Cox

Pacemaker Barbie by Matthew Cox
(Image © Matthew Cox)

Lips by Matthew Cox

Lips by Matthew Cox
(Image © Matthew Cox)

Olive Oyl by Matthew Cox

Olive Oyl by Matthew Cox
Check out her belly button ring!
(Image © Matthew Cox)

What will he think of next, I wonder?

Matthew Cox is a Philadelphia-based artist. You can check out more of his work here. He is represented by Jonathan Ferrara Gallery in New Orleans, Pentimenti Gallery in Philadelphia, Packer/Schopf Gallery in Chicago and Widmer and Theodoridis Contemporary in Zürich.

