Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Way back in March, I wrote about the fabulous Abigail Ahern bulldog lamps (read about it here) that I so coveted…

Photograph of Abigail Ahern

Abigail Ahern
(Image from here)

Famed for her edgy, eclectic taste, Abigail runs her super funky North London design school & boutique, Atelier Abigail Ahern, in between blogging and creating amazing spaces. She is a total design ‘it’ girl, and funny and warm to boot. I was lucky enough to attend one of her recent Design School sessions in Sydney and it was fab’ (but that’s another story).

Anyhoo, as you can imagine, I was most excited to have the opportunity to visit Atelier Abigail Ahern in Islington while I was in London. So, under the guise of a dining experience at Ottolenghi (conveniently located just across the road), LM trooped out to Upper Street for a wee look-see at Abigail’s flagship with me…

I was not disappointed. However, I did not walk away with one of the bulldog lamps. No, I did not. Rather, after falling madly in love, I am soon to be in possession of a most gorgeous Mungo Bulldog Lamp. I have named him ‘Boris’ – in honour of our recent trip to London.

Mungo Bulldog Lamp

Mungo Bulldog Lamp from Atelier Abigail Ahern
(Image by TSL)

I gotta’ say – the lovely Ainsley and her pooch, Bailey looked after us so well. ‘Boris’ is being shipped to us here in Sydney, along with a couple of other wee treasures. AND, when Ainsley heard we had some time to kill before our dinner, she sent us off to ‘The Bar With No Name‘ at 69 Colebrook Row for a wee beverage. If you are ever in the area, take it from me, it’s well worth a small detour…

AND, Ottolenghi was everything I had hoped to experience and more. I have long been a fan of Yotam Ottolenghi’s food since acquiring his vegetarian cookbook, Plenty. It is sublime (and I am no vegetarian). If you are not already a convert, I encourage you to check it out.

I leave you with a wee shot of Bailey on the couch at Atelier Abigail Ahern…

Bailey
(Image by TSL)

Atelier Abigail Ahern can be found at 137 Upper Street, Islington, London, N1 1QP. Ottolenghi can be found at 287 Upper Street, London, N1 2TZ.

