Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Grain Free Granola (Nutola)
(Image bt TSL)

Despite the fact that this wee blog has a focus on my personal love affair with design-oriented, creative, haberdashery pursuits; I also spend quite a lot of time reading about, creating and eating good food. It is also true that my recipe posts seem to get more hits than almost any other  – with the exception of my last-minute decision to post about Rupert Grint being Ed Sheeran’s doppelgänger, which subsequently turned into my top rated post of all time! Who knew?

Anyhoo – this post is a recipe post. It is for a seriously yummy, not to mention healthy, grain free granola that I first discovered on The Healthy Home Economist. I have tweaked it the tiniest bit to suit my tastes, but I promise you IT IS SO GOOD!

The other great thing about this recipe is that it is a doddle to make, especially compared to making a proper traditional granola, which has to be cooked and stirred often to ensure perfect golden goodness. I’m considered the tiniest bit of a Granola aficionado in this neck of the woods – I have two friends who expect my Christmas Granola every year. This is very definitely the healthier alternative.

I’m now on my third batch of this ‘Nutola’ and it is fast becoming a staple. To date, my favourite option is to have it with berries and a little coconut milk, but the teenager swears by banana and mango yoghurt with his…

So, here it is Grain Free Granola (Nutola)…

Grain Free Granola (Nutola)
(Image bt TSL)

Recipe makes generous gallon (which is just over 3 1/2 litres for us metric users)

Ingredients

3 cups raw almonds
3 cups raw walnuts
3 cups cashews
1 cup pumpkin seeds
1/Ž4 to 1/Ž2 cup coconut oil 
1/Ž4 cup raw honey
1 cup chopped dates
1 cup shredded coconut 
1 Tbsp vanilla
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1 1/Ž2 tsp Celtic sea salt 

Method

1. Chop nuts and place in a large bowl.  It is easiest to chop the different nuts if they are not mixed together. Much to my Mum’s astonishment, I did this by hand the first time. I have since followed her advice to use the magimix. MUCH faster!

2. Mix nuts. Then, combine coconut oil, honey, vanilla, cinnamon and sea salt in saucepan over low heat until fully mixed. Pour this over nuts and mix well.

3. Add dates and shredded coconut. Store in an airtight container and pop into the fridge.

Oh – and just one more thing – because nuts are the primary ingredient, you don’t need a lot to fill you up.

Thanks to Sarah, the Healthy Home Economist!

