Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Cornersmith Ploughman's (Image by TSL)

Cornersmith Ploughman’s
(Image by TSL)

Cornersmith Lunch (Image by TSL)

Cornersmith Lunch
(Image by TSL)

Cornersmith Egg & Greens (Image by TSL)

Cornersmith Egg & Greens
(Image by TSL)

I know. I know. Before you say anything, I know that that first image of me chowing down on Cornersmith’s take on a Ploughman’s is hardly breakfast fare. But, when you hear how good it was AND that this place might just be my newest foodie obsession (I’ve been there twice in the past week, once for breakfast and once for lunch), perhaps you’ll allow me a little grace…?

Don’t eat anything your great-grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food.(Michael Pollan)

If you subscribe to Michael Pollan‘s way of thinking about food, then you will love, love, LOVE Cornersmith. I promise.

I have been hearing such great things about this quirky-yet-cool cafe for quite a while, and then my special blogging buddy, BCD recommended it – so, I had to drag LM off for a look-see. I only wish I hadn’t left it so long.

Cornersmith 3

Cornersmith

Cornersmith (Images by TSL)

Cornersmith
(Images by TSL)

Located on the corner of Illawara and Petersham Roads in Marrickville – great if you’re an inner-westie like me! – the very hip Cornersmith offers a frequently changing blackboard menu made up of locally sourced and fresh produce, coupled with preserves and pickles made on site. If that’s not enough to tickle your taste buds, they are even part of the Urban Beehive project AND offer cheese-making classes. It’s a wee foodie nirvana…

This morning, my avocado, coriander, citrus and chilli with sprouts on rye (well, in my case gluten free toast) was just what my tummy wanted. LM had the poached egg roll with free range salami, quince aioli, pickled fennel and brussels slaw. He chose to save the top half of his roll so he could taste the house-made crab apple jelly. It was so good we had to take a jar home with us. We’ve already got a jar of the zucchini pickles from last time – I had them with the ploughman’s and they were sooooo yummy.

Cornersmith Pickles and Preserves (Image by TSL)

Cornersmith Pickles and Preserves Retail Station
(Image by TSL)

A word of warning – Cornersmith ain’t huge. There was lots of room for us this Monday morning, but it can get mighty busy come peak times. Be prepared for a wait at the weekend.

Cornersmith
Cornersmith

Cornersmith in Marrickville (Images by TSL)

Cornersmith in Marrickville
(Images by TSL)

Cornersmith is now open 7 days and can be found at 314 Illawara Road, Marrickville. I reckon’ its fab’.

