Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pic and the Peanut Butter Fairy from Pics Peanut Butter

Pic and the Peanut Butter Fairy from Pics REALLY GOOD Peanut Butter
(Image by TSL)

Today LM and I tootled off to the Sydney Good Food & Wine Show at Darling Harbour for a squizz. Maybe I’m getting old (yes, I am), but these things seem to be getting busier and busier. And, maybe I’m becoming more like my Mum (yes, I am), because I find I don’t cope as well as I used to with crowds…

That being said, we had a great time wandering the aisles. I can recommend a visit if you’re in Sydney this weekend. I love chatting to food providores and it is always lovely to meet the people behind a product I particularly like.

Case in point, the ebullient Pic of Pic’s Peanut Butter. I’m a huge fan of Pic’s seriously good peanut butter. I even blogged about him back in February of last year (here). If you are passionate about your peanut butter, this is the brand for you. Promise!

I get way too much happiness from good food. (Elizabeth Olsen)

In terms of trends, it is clear that cider is the big thing in alcomoholic beverages. Somehow, it was too early in the day for me to sample wine, yet I managed to taste the ciders on offer. Go figure.

Two Elk Cider

Two Elk Cider
(Image by TSL)

My favourite today was the pear number at Two Elk Cider. Apparently, this yummy stuff is a premium cider range, brewed and bottled according to tradition in Sweden.

Spirits of France

Spirits of France
(Image by TSL)

And, while we’re on the subject of pears of the alcomoholic variety, LM sampled the Calvados on offer at the Spirits of France stall (30% pears, in case you were curious). He was obviously smitten – he bought a bottle!

Harney & Sons Fine Teas

Harney & Sons Fine Teas
(Image by TSL)

As I write this post, I’m having my first cup of Hot Cinnamon Sunset Tea from the lovely women at the Harney & Sons stall. I am in love with this tea. I first discovered it at a north shore café and have been looking for it since, so I was very pleased to see them at the show.

And, of course, we could not visit a food show without sampling some chocolate…

The lovely lady at Adora Chocolate

The lovely woman at Adora Chocolate
(Image by TSL)

I’m not sure if this is one of the sisters behind Adora Chocolate, but she was gorgeous AND it turns out Adora offers a large range of dairy-free chocolate (which kept LM engaged for quite some time!)

ChocoMe

ChocoMe
(Image by TSL)

The beautiful-looking chocolates on offer from boutique chocolatiere ChocoMe were too scrummy to pass on, too. We sampled AND bought…

Pana Chocolate

Pana Chocolate
(Image by TSL)

And, then there was the super team at Pana Chocolate (first blogged about back in 2012 under their previous name, Conscious Chocolate). This is the best-est, healthiest chocolate out there (so far, in my extensive search!) It’s raw. It’s organic. And, its made in Melbourne. ‘Nuts’ started out as my favourite flavour. Then,  ‘Eighty’ was launched. Today, I discovered the latest addition – ‘Sour Cherry + Vanilla’. WHat can I say? – YUM!!! You gotta’ try it!

The Good Food & Wine Show is on at the Sydney Convention & Exhibition Centre at Darling Harbour this weekend. Tickets start at $33. Doors open at 10am both Saturday and Sunday.

