Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

(Original image sent by TSL's Dad. Copy from Graham Kerr's cookbook.)

(Original image sent by TSL’s Dad. Copy from Graham Kerr’s cookbook)

A couple of weeks ago, I posted about my all time FAVOURITE root vegetable soup from my childhood. My Mum used to make it. It was a Graham Kerr recipe. And, I didn’t actually have the recipe to hand when I was wanting to make it, so I ‘approximated’ using a bit of this and a dash of that. To be honest, I was pretty happy with the outcome. It wasn’t exactly the soup of my childhood, but it was thick and creamy and made me feel good… I was very happy with it.

And, then my father got involved.

Dad lives in New Zealand. He is a big fan of this wee blog. He reads every post. And, while he doesn’t always comment, he often tries my recipes and gives me his verdict. He’s a pretty fab’ Dad, really. My four-hour lamb is now his ‘new signature dish’! Dad and I compare notes on our Healthy Ice Cream flavour experiments (I love the sound of his feijoa and ginger version). And naturally, he and Mum tested my take on the root vegetable soup and, while they liked it, Dad said it wasn’t quite as good as the original.

That particular post actually generated quite the discussion amongst my immediate family. Clearly, just the thought of that soup brings back so many memories for us all.

And, just to prove his point, Dad sent my sister and me a copy of the original recipe from Graham Kerr’s circa 1967 ‘Galloping Gourmet’ cookbook (which, if you’re interested, is older than me!)

The Graham Kerr Cookbook (circa 1967)

The Graham Kerr Cookbook (circa 1967) – very Don Draper!
(Image by TSL)

So, of course, I had to make the original soup (only, mine was adapted to fit the Autoimmune Protocol).

And, as much as it pains me to admit it, I think Dad was right. As good as my soup is, it’s not the original. And, when it comes to childhood memories, the original is what counts.

It is worth noting that LM – who does not have the same childhood memories – favours my version. It is entirely possible that he is a smidge biased… I’ll let you be the judge!

The original BEST Root Vegetable Soup

  • Servings: 5-6
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: easy-peasy
  • Print

TSL Root Vegetable Soup

(Image by TSL)

Adapted from the Graham Kerr recipe

Ingredients

1 x Tablespoon fat (I used lard)
340g carrots, peeled and chopped
170g kumara (sweet potato), peeled and chopped
170g parsnips, peeled and chopped
230g onions, peeled and chopped
3 x cloves garlic
860 mls chicken bone broth (substitute with vegetable stock for a vegetarian option)
Salt
10 x Black peppercorns
5 x Bay-leaves
1 bunch parsley
5 sprigs thyme
230 mls Coconut milk

Method

1. Throw your fat into a large pot. Melt over a medium heat.

2. Add chopped vegetables and sweat for five minutes (I use a timer).

3. Add the bone broth, herbs, peppercorns and season generously with salt.

4. Bring to the boil. Pop on the lid and lower the heat to a simmer. Cook for twenty minutes or until the vegetables are tender.

5. Remove the herbs. Carefully purée your mixture (in batches) in your blender. Add the coconut milk as you blend.

6. Taste for seasoning and serve with freshly chopped parsley as a garnish.

E N J O Y !

And, the first person to let me know, via a comment here or on the ‘This Sydney Life’ Facebook page, which soup they prefer (and why!) wins a prize. Immediate family members are not eligible!

Shared on the Phoenix Helix AIP Recipe Round Table

