Tags

, , , , , , ,

Gummy Bears

(Image from here)

I’m currently on the Autoimmune Protocol, a nutrient-rich elimination diet that removes foods that irritate the gut, cause gut imbalance and activate the immune system. You can read more about the protocol and why I’m doing this here.

Don’t you wish you could take a single childhood memory and blow it up into a bubble and live inside it forever? (Sarah Addison Allen, Lost Lake)

My first memory of gummy bears (or, in my case, the original Gummibärchen) is the packets of them that used to arrive as part of birthday or Christmas parcels from my Omi in Germany. She sent the best parcels…

Gummibärchen

Gummibärchen
aka Gummy Bears
(Image from here)

Did you know the gummy bear originated in Germany?

Here’s a bit of trivia for you – Hans Riegel, a confectioner from Bonn, created the original Dancing Bear (Tanzbär) after being inspired by the trained bears seen at street festivities and markets in Europe through to the 19th century. Those poor bears. The original was much larger in form than its later successor, the wee Gold-Bear (Goldbär), which hit the market way back in 1967.

The traditional gummy bear is made from a mixture of sugar, glucose syrup, starch, flavouring, food colouring, citric acid, and gelatin. Clearly not the best option for those who are concerned about the levels of sugar, additives and preservatives they consume…

It’s the gelatin bit I’m interested in

Specifically, gelatin from grass-fed, pasture raised animals to ensure you are not exposing yourself to even more added hormones, pesticides and heavy metals.

Homemade Gummies

Great Lakes Gelatin & the Gummylicious Homemade Gummies
(Image by TSL)

But what is gelatin? Really, it is just a dehydrated powder made up of the bones, cartilage, collagen and minerals from cows (or pigs). It is a great source of amino acids, which support a healthy mood, strong bones, smooth skin and proper muscle synthesis. I use the Great Lakes gelatin, always from the red container when making jelly of any description (the green container is collagen hydrolysate and doesn’t set). It is quite expensive, but one can lasts an awfully long time.

Homemade fruit gummies are ridiculously easy to make. And, because you can use cool shapes to make them more interesting, I reckon kids will love them. They are a great way to get some seriously healthy goodness into them without having to resort to bribery! Gummies have similar benefits to bone broth – they sooth the gut.

GREAT if you’re on the autoimmune protocol, too.

I had picked up a few wee moulds from Ikea last time I was there, getting lost in the labyrinth of Scandi’ homewares. I must have been channeling my nephews and niece at the time. They (the moulds, not my nephews and niece!) had been languishing unused in the back of a kitchen cupboard and I found them as part of our recent move. Just perfect for gummies…

Sidebar…

Last week I made the very tasty ‘Chocolate’ Raspberry Pudding from over at A clean Plate (Christina has a great blog – do check it out!). It was one of those great finds you make while on the AIP. Avocado is great in mousse! Who knew? Anyway, I woke up the next morning to an outbreak of my autoimmune symptoms. At the time, I attributed it to the carob in the recipe. Apparently, it is possible to have an allergic reaction to carob. And, maybe I do, but now I’m wondering if it may be that I overdid the sugar on that particular day… It is possible I may have snuck in an extra Orange Macaroon Ball (or two) that day and then had the date-sweetened pudding. Perhaps I need to be extra vigilant about my sugar intake…

All of which led me to my homemade gummies. While not sugar-free, they are small and you can add as much or as little sweetener as you like. And, as long as you don’t eat ten in one sitting (not advisable!), they will satisfy your sweet tooth in a healthy way.

I started with raspberry and pomegranate gummies and then whipped up some blueberry and coconut, too. I kept mine pretty simple, but you could always add vitamins – like Vitamin C – or probiotics (just make sure you add then probiotics after heating). I think next time, I may play around with some kefir or kombucha infused gummies. That way I’d get a double hit of gut-healing good stuff – gelatine and probiotics!

TSL's Healthy Homemade Fruit Gummies

  • Servings: 32 jellies (in my Ikea moulds)
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy-peasey
  • Print

TSL Gummies 2
Ingredients

For Raspberry & Pomegranate Gummies

1/2 cup frozen raspberries
1 Tablespoon Maple Syrup (or honey) + more to taste
1/2 cup + 1 Tablespoon raspberry and pomegranate juice
3 Tablespoons powdered gelatin

For Blueberry & Coconut Gummies

1/2 cup frozen blueberries
1 Tablespoon Maple Syrup (or honey) + more to taste
1/2 cup + 1 Tablespoon coconut milk
3 Tablespoons powdered gelatin

Method

1. Lightly oil your moulds.

2. Place your frozen berries, maple syrup or honey and tablespoon of juice/milk in a small pot over a medium heat. Give it a good stir. When the fruit is fully defrosted and the mixture starts to bubble, either transfer to a beaker and use an immersion blender to mix or, mix in a blender/food processor and transfer to a jug.

3. Using the same small pot, over a low heat, whisk your juice/coconut milk with the gelatin until fully dissolved.

4. whisk your gelatin liquid with your pureed fruit. Carefully pour the mixture into moulds and place into the fridge. The gummies will take between 15 and 30 minutes to set.

5. Remove from the moulds. Gummies will keep stored in an airtight container in your fridge for up to two weeks.

E N J O Y !

 

This recipe is featured over at the Phoenix Helix AIP Recipe Roundtable #31.

