Tags

, , , , , , ,

Gingerbread Man

(Image by TSL)

 

I’m currently on the Autoimmune Protocol, a nutrient-rich elimination diet that removes foods that irritate the gut, cause gut imbalance and activate the immune system. You can read more about the protocol and why I’m doing this here.

I had all these plans for the blog this week. Ideas for posts kept popping into my head at the most unlikely of times. And, I’m finally back – firing on all cylinders – in the kitchen again after the big move into the smaller wee place. So, there really has been no excuse for not being more organised. I’m not even really sure what happened.  So today, I start with an apology…

Sorry! I don’t know where the week went.

My little sister is undergoing a routine medical procedure today. It involves fasting because she’s having a general anaesthetic. She’s just back from holidaying overseas and has jumped straight into the autoimmune protocol. So, I figured some chicken soup was in order. And then, I thought about the awful gluten-filled biscuits and sweet, milky cups of tea they give you when you’re just out of your anaesthetic – Ugh! – and I just had to make these wee gingerbread beauties.

A much better alternative to the hospital-provided snack-age AND AIP-friendly, to boot!

Gingerbread Fancy Dress

(Image by TSL)

I can’t take any credit for this recipe. That must all go to the very talented Tyler over at The Primitive Homemaker. You can find the recipe for these lovely wee Chewy Ginger Thin Cookies here. They are a doddle to make, contain only four ingredients, and are a scrummy treat with just the right about of crunch, ginger and sweetness.

Thanks Tyler!

