Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

100 kms per hour sign

I began ‘This Sydney Life’, my ‘starter blog‘ on 2 February. That’s almost four months ago now. Today is my 100th post. It’s a bit of a milestone for me, so I thought perhaps it might be time for a few moments of navel gazing reflection…

Good judgment comes from experience, and often experience comes from bad judgment.  (Rita Mae Brown)

I had been thinking about starting a blog for a while. If it wasn’t for LM suggesting I ‘just do it’ (Nike – you can pay me later), or for WordPress offering such an easy entry into blog-landI would probably still be thinking about it. Often, it is best to learn by doing. You’ll make mistakes along the way, but that’s all part of the learning. That was my first lesson.

My second lesson is that even a technologically challenged girl like me can blog. You don’t have to be a whiz on the computer. And, while it may not be perfect, it’s actually not that hard. Near enough sometimes can be good enough. Not always, but sometimes.

My third lesson in this ‘learn as I go‘ blogging adventure was that ideas for blog posts are everywhere. Almost all of these ideas are not new and have already been written about before. The challenge is to put my handwriting on it. Add my voice. I think we human beings are naturally drawn to things that are more personal, but as a blogger, I’m still coming to terms with this. It continues to be the hardest lesson for me. I’m sure I’m not alone in this – it requires a level of bravery to share bits of yourself when you write. What if people don’t like it? What I do know is that the more of myself I put into a post, the more comments I get*. And, comments are blogging gold. I love it when you guys take the time to comment. Thanks for every time you do.

I feel a very unusual sensation – if it is not indigestion, I think it must be gratitude. (Benjamin Disraeli)

Before I took my leap of faith into blog-land, I had done some reading on the subject of blogging. I even went as far as to read Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett’s ‘ProBlogger’ book. A girl should always be prepared, I reckon’. Every article I read said I needed to find my ‘tribe’ or ‘posse’. The people – often fellow bloggers – who would stick with me as I fumbled my way through learning about blogging. I had no idea how I was going to achieve this. I didn’t even know where I should look. It turns out I needn’t have worried. They found me. My blogging buddies are the biggest reason I am still blogging and (inside my head) I thank them for their support every day.

My band of blogging buddies come from all over. Some have been with me almost since I started, and some have come on board more recently. Their blogs are dedicated to a variety of things – food, health, photography, every-day life, quirky finds, design, and more. To date, I have never met any of them in the real world. I don’t even know what most of them look like. Yet, they check in with me almost like clock-work. They tell me when I have written a good post, when a post has made them laugh or when I have made a particularly special find. I can often tell when a post hasn’t been as successful by what they don’t say. They are warm. They are supportive. They are funny. They are consistent. They know who they are and I thank them, every one.

100 Thank you sign photograph

(Image sourced from here)

The other thing all the articles and books say about creating a blog is to find your niche. I’m not so sure I’ve been entirely successful in this. ‘This Sydney Life’ is written from Sydney, but it’s not exactly about Sydney. It has morphed into a blog about stuff (read: design, good craft, art, performance and very occasionally food) that turns me on. I’m sort of OK with that; it is my blog after all. But, I am interested in learning what you think I could make better? What do you like? What don’t you like? Is there anything you think I should change? Do you have a favourite post? I would greatly appreciate some feedback from the people who matter – those who check in and read my blog (that would be you!)… And, if you do, I thank you (in advance!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts speech bubble

One last thing before I finish up. If you have somehow made your way here because you’re thinking about starting a blog (and you’re still reading – Wow!), all I can say is ‘just do it’! Really. If I had known how much enjoyment I would get out of this blogging gig, I would have started so much earlier. I just love it.

That’s it for the navel gazing. We will resume our usual programme tomorrow!

*Please note I said comments. Not hits. If I just want hits, I’d be posting lots more about things like a video clip of Ed Sheeran‘s Lego House!

