Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Rhubarb, Strawberry & Blood Orange Syrup TSL - Style

Rhubarb, Strawberry & Blood Orange Syrup TSL – Style
(Image by TSL)

Remember the Six Barrel Soda Co. post from a couple of days ago? The good people of Six Barrel Soda Co. actually touched based to let me know that it is possible to sample their wares in Sydney. Apparently, Nan’s Place is the trailblazer. So, if you’re after a tipple of Six Barrel Soda, get thee to Zetland! I may even see you there…

It did occur to me, after last week’s post on the subject, that I could actually make my own syrup for soda. I mean, how hard could it be? I did a bit of googling and discovered more than one actual recipe for celery soda.

Who would’ve thunk it?

But then, after reviewing all the feedback I received on just the idea of celery soda, I determined it was possibly a better idea to start my flavoured syrup journey with a slightly less ambitious flavour. Celery just doesn’t seem to hold universal appeal!

Well, Art is Art, isn’t it? Still, on the other hand, water is water. And east is east and west is west and if you take cranberries and stew them like applesauce they taste much more like prunes than rhubarb does. Now you tell me what you know.(Groucho Marx)

As it happens, rhubarb is in season for us at the moment here in the southern hemisphere. And, I am in the habit of stewing a batch of it every week – often with some strawberries – for LM to have on his granola (rather, Nutola) in the morning.

Logical then, that I use this as the base for my inaugural syrup.

And, whadda’ you know? Not only did it work, LM reckons it tastes just fab’! And, he still has the left over stewed fruit for his breakfast. Sometimes, I surprise even myself…

So, today I bring you TSL’s Rhubarb, Strawberry & Blood Orange Syrup…

Rhubarb, Strawberry & Blood Orange Syrup TSL - Style

Rhubarb, Strawberry & Blood Orange Syrup TSL – Style
(Image by TSL)

It’s easy-peasy. Here’s what I did. You’ll need…

1 x bunch of rhubarb
1 x punnet of strawberries
1 x blood orange
1 x cup sugar (I used coconut sugar)
1 cup filtered water

1. Prepare the rhubarb by washing thoroughly. Top and tail each stalk. Chop into pieces (roughly 3cm) and throw into a medium pot.

2. Prepare strawberries by washing thoroughly. Remove hulls and chop each strawberry in half. Add these to the pot.

3. Juice the blood orange and add the juice to your pot. Add sugar and water as well.

4. Bring the covered pot to a boil. Lower temperature and gently simmer for 15 minutes.

5. Turn off the heat and allow the stewed fruit to come to room temperature. Then place a clean cheesecloth over a sieve and strain. Pour the syrup into a bottle and refrigerate until needed.

6. The leftover fruit compote can be kept for eating over cereal, ice-cream or whatever you fancy!

Who knew it would be that easy?

Rhubarb, Strawberry & Blood Orange Syrup TSL - Style

Rhubarb, Strawberry & Blood Orange Syrup TSL – Style
(Image by TSL)

Oh – and, if you make my wee rhubarb, strawberry & blood orange syrup concoction, please let me know how it turns out?